This qualification is an essential requirement to assess QCF vocational training and therefore essential for all trainers giving instructor training in line with the DVSA’s future plans to modernise the industry. It is also essential if you want to assess training funded through the Skills Funding Agency and the European Social Fund.

These qualifications replace the A1, A2, V1 and V2 qualifications. They are required if you will be assessing or verifying NQF NVQs during the next three years or if you will be assessing or verifying QCF qualifications that use the term ‘NVQ’ in their title. They may also be required (depending on the qualification assessment strategies set by individual sector skills councils) if you are assessing or quality-assuring QCF qualifications that ‘confirm occupational competence’ (D1). If you already hold A and V units, you do not have to re-qualify.

These new qualifications are designed to meet the emerging needs of the developing qualification frameworks. As well as being a requirement if you wish to assess or verify NVQs and other qualifications confirming occupational competence, these qualifications will be valuable to any staff involved in or responsible for assessing and quality-assuring all vocational and vocationally related achievement.The qualifications contain knowledge units for each assessor and quality assurance role, which are available as one-unit Awards. These will be valuable if you need an understanding of these roles but are not yet in a position to practise because you have not yet started the role, or you are a manager responsible for assessors and verifiers but do not undertake these roles yourself. Additional units confirming competence can be taken at the same time as, or after, achieving the knowledge unit.These qualifications are appropriate for all staff assessing and quality-assuring qualifications in the QCF, including staff assessing on non-NVQ or non-competence-based qualifications, ensuring that they meet agreed standards of assessment.

The Level 3 qualifications cover:

Understanding the principles and practices of assessment
Assessing competence in the work environment
Assessing vocationally related achievement

The DSA are planning to make becoming a Driving Instructor a qualification on the Qualifications Credit Framework (QCF) so assessor qualifications are likely to be needed in the future

The two units above added to unit 10 in the PTLLS qualification (practices and principles of Assessment) will result in you achieving the Certificate in assessing vocational competence, and a licence to practice not only in our industry but beyond.

I wish to register my interest in the assessor course

Your Name (required)

Your E-mail address (required)

Your Telephone number (required)

Other information